Recognizing a wealth of research

While I was still in high school, my father, Jacques A. Comeau, took me on several research trips to the Quebec and Montreal archives to wade through books and records for evidence of our family history.  His enthusiasm for the task infected me with the genealogy bug.

Once he retired, he undertook the mission to discover the origins of Pierre, the first Comeau to come to Canada (Acadie to be exact) and the ancestor of practically every Comeau in North America.  He collected dozens of books and reams of letters, photocopies and writings, which I inherited on his death in 2013.

This site is dedicated to his memory and preserving the memory of those whom we are decended from.  My intention is to re-cast my father’s research into a chronicle that tells the tale of the Comeau and many other family lines from which we descended.

